Tickets & Events

Carnegie Mellon Contemporary Ensemble

February 16, 2019 | 7:30pm

Saturday, February 16, 2019
7:30pm / Kelly Strayhorn Theater
5941 Penn Ave

Presented by Carnegie Mellon University School of Music
The CMU Contemporary Ensemble, under the direction of Daniel Nesta Curtis, will present “now it’s time,” a program that features the music of five trailblazing female composers. Two of the featured composers, Binna Kim and Annika Socolofsky, are recent graduates of CMU’s composition program and have written new works for the contemporary ensemble for the occasion. The program will also include the premieres of two works by CMU faculty composers Nancy Galbraith and Marilyn Taft Thomas, each of whom wrote works that feature female alumni soloists. Pulitzer Prize winning composer Julia Wolfe’s music will complete this program, which traces the struggles and triumphs of outstanding female artists at various points in their careers.


  • Annika Socolofsky / Don’t Say a Word (World Premiere)
  • Binna Kim / stacked emotions (World Premiere)
  • Nancy Galbraith / Percussion Concerto (world premiere) featuring Abigail Langhorst (MM ’14), percussion
  • Soosan Lolavar Girl (2017)
  • Julia Wolfe / The Vermeer Room (1989)
  • Marilyn Taft Thomas / Songs of Strength (world premiere) composed in honor of long-time CMU voice professor Mildred Miller Posvar and featuring Hannah Shea (BFA ’18), mezzo-soprano

This concert is free and open to the public. No ticket required. Visit the CMU School of Music website for more information



Registration for this event FREE and is handled by the Carnegie Mellon University of Music. For questions and/or concerns please contact Emily Rybinski-Benish at